jump to navigation

K’s Hello February 20, 2008

Posted by K in Biking, K's Perspective, Running, Swimming.
trackback

As the about page says, I’m K and I’m training for a metric century (65-mile bike), a sprint triathlon (.5 mile swim, 11 mile bike, 2.5 mile run or something like that) and the scariest of them all, a real century – a 100 mile bike ride. I’m stoked but pretty sure that I’m going to die – well, at least during the bike rides.

I’ve swam on and off ever since I stopped swimming year round so I’m not worried about that at all. In fact, I’m not really worried about the sprint tri because it’s a sprint and between my efforts to swim, run and bike, I should be fine. Where I’m mostly positive of my untimely demise is during the centuries.

See, I’m scared of my bike. When I clip in, I fall over because I can’t unclip in time and I lose my balance, and fall over, bruising my bottom and my pride. When I was 15, I crashed going down hill on my bike so I’m still wary of careening down a hill, being unable to stop and then face-planting into the asphalt once again. Finally, I’m terrified of people riding too close to me and bike events are going to have lots of people biking, riding close to me. So you see, I’m pretty sure I’m going to die.

But, that doesn’t mean I’ll give up! I will persevere and share all my stories, workouts, diets, and gruesome tales of training with you lucky people. Because let’s face it, even if I write about something totally gross (like nearly crapping my pants or something equally tragic), it will still be an awesome story because I am awesome!

Comments»

1. M - February 20, 2008

I think we should buy stock in Imodium just in case…

2. Tim - February 20, 2008

I think 100 miles on a bike would take me two and a half weeks.


Leave a Reply

