jump to navigation

Motivation February 25, 2008

Posted by M in M's Perspective, Running.
trackback

I’ve been forcing myself to eat breakfast lately because I’m finally buying into that whole Tony the Tiger schpiel about breakfast being the most important meal of the day. Yeah Tony, you totally win, and it only took about twenty years. No one can ever say you didn’t have conviction.

So anyway, I’m eating breakfast, a yum-tacular banana and granny apple. This would normally fill me up but then I got news that I had just been chosen, at random, to purchase two South by Southwest wristbands and my adrenaline skyrocketed. SXSW wristbands are the precious of the preciouses, the Colosus of Clout, the Sultan of Swat… Oh, wait a second, that’s Babe Ruth. Whatever, they are coveted amongst music lovers in Austin and I got two! In your face crappy hipsters! What was I talking about? Oh yeah, adrenaline.

So I use this to my advantage and quickly get on the treadmill to burn some energy. It only lasted, like, a minute. Then I got hungry. Then I remembered I brought a hot dog from Bubby’s birthday party and some carrots for lunch today. Then I wanted to get off the treadmill and scarf down the delicious hot dog. Hot dogs and french fries are my weakness, seriously. I could eat hot dogs and french fries every single day and never get tired of it. Believe me, I did it for a week when I was a kid. Ah, the benefits of having divorced parents and having a bachelor father…

Again, back to running. I’m running and I’m hungry and I want to get off but I know I can’t because I promised myself I’d run for a minimum of twelve minutes but I really wanted that hot dog. Talk about internal conflict. I should write a screenplay about that. It would own the Oscars. Anyway, I kept running and running because I wanted that stupid hot dog. In my mind, it was going to be so delicious and juicy even though I’d have to nuke it in the microwave but whatever, that hot dog was going to save me. 11:58, 11:59, 12:00!! I had done it, I could now go eat my hottie dog! Oh wait, I still had to cool down and walk for five minutes. Damn you heart rate!! 4:57, 4:58, 4:59, 5:00, hottie dog, here I come!

So I bet you’re now asking yourself “Was it really worth it? Was it really worth you not focusing on your training and trying to increase your runs?” And this is what I have to say “It wath the grayteth hoth dogth in the worldth!” *That’s what I’d sound like if I were talking with my mouth full of hot dog heaven*

Comments»

1. K - February 25, 2008

Eh, you gotta do what you gotta do to get motivated. If it’s a Hot Dog, big deal? You earned it!

2. Tim - February 26, 2008

Here’s motivation for friday or saturday runs…. Every two minutes you run earns you one beer/shot/wine for the night. By the end of the summer you’ll be drinking 40 beers a night.

3. M - February 26, 2008

Oh, 40 beers a night isn’t normal? I told James we had a drinking problem!

4. Kevin - February 27, 2008

Sorry..hahhahahaahhaha Running? I hope you do it M.
I think I could beat you and I’m old and stupid.

5. Kevin - February 27, 2008

* Banjo playing even* 40? I gotta hook up with your Tim.


Leave a Reply

