jump to navigation

Out of Shape February 29, 2008

Posted by K in Biking, K's Perspective, Swimming, Workout.
trackback

Well I rode 12 miles yesterday and realized just how out of biking shape I am. I got a late start and it was getting dark so though I wanted to go a little bit further, I figured it was best to end my ride a little earlier and  get back. On the plus, I burned 600 calories and I was able to unclip without falling over yesterday so for me, that is a small victory!

I’m going swimming today during lunch and it will be the first time back in the pool since November. I don’t like swimming when it’s cold out so I haven’t gone all winter. It’s supposed to be a nice sunny 67 degrees today so I’ll be heading over to the pool at 12 to get in a quick swim. Since I know I’m going to be disgustingly out of swim shape, I’m shooting for as close to 2,000 meters as I can get in an hour. I’m planning on doing the following set:

  • 500 Warm up (300 Free, 100 back swim, 100 back kick)
  • 5 x 200 Free on a good pace (based on how fast I can swim my first day back, most likely a 1:45 pace for a meter pool)
  • 8×50 IM (50 Fly Drill, 50 Back, 50 Breast, 50 Free – repeat, on 1:10)
  • 100 Warm Down
  • Total =  200o Meters

I think I should be able to pull that off this afternoon and if not, I’ll forgo the 50’s.  The nice thing about having swum competitively from age 11 to 19 means that I swam a whole lot as a young’un. In fact, over the summers when I was in 8th, 9th and 10th grade, the team coach wanted us to get in at least 10,000 yards 3 times a week. Lucky me, I’d wake up early on my summer vacation three times a week, go swim for an hour (we’d do 3,200 meters usually in the am cos I was faster back then), then swim for two hours in the afternoon where we’d get in at least 6,000 yards or more. Suffice it to say, I swam a lot for a while and had no life except for swim team friends. I can’t even imagine what it’s like to be an Olympic swimmer or anything because they swim way more than I did as just a mediocre swimmer.

Anyhoo, my point is that because I swam so much as an angsty teen, I will forever be able to swim. I may not be fast but I can get into a pool and swim a 2k meter/yard workout like it’s nothing. And at lap swim, I’ll bet that I’m faster (even out of shape) than 75% of the swimmers there (mostly because you’re average lap swimmer is clueless and sucks – sorry to anyone who is an average lap swimmer). So, hopefully my swim today will be much more encouraging than my crummy bike ride (and will be a lot less painful).

Comments»

1. M - February 29, 2008

Um, I can doggie paddle pretty well!

2. K - February 29, 2008

So, I didn’t do any of that set. I felt like total poo in the pool (even poo might have floated better than I did… ew, i just grossed myself out).

The whole time I was wondering if my swim earned me a burger and fries for lunch. I ended up doing 1,600 meters and I felt kind of crummy the whole time. Best part of my swimming?

The mini-tan I got! woo hoo!

3. A - March 1, 2008

Remember when we started training for that tri last year?? I almost drowned after swimming 200 meters. Talk about feeling like poo in the pool, I was Baby Ruth city!
As for the bike riding, I’m a go for Saturday morning. I’ll bring the ol’ bike in on the rack on Friday night. I don’t have to get TP on Saturday until 6:30.


Leave a Reply

