jump to navigation

I Like to Move It, Move It March 4, 2008

Posted by M in M's Perspective, Running.
trackback

I find it extremely difficult to run without music. I also find it difficult to run but that’s another post, another complaint. I find it’s a lot easier to keep a good pace when I have a drum beat or a really strong bass line vibrating in my ear. It’s like my body tries to keep up with the song by having my little feet pound the pavement; muy fun. I doubt that my running sounds anywhere near as rhythmic as I imagine but whatever, I’m an only child with a huge imagination so in my mind, my running is borderline melodic. I bet if he were alive, Wagner would compose an opera based on my work-out runs. It would bring tears to your eyes.

I currently have a 30 gig iPod video and it’s a little tough to run with that monolithic rectangle so I’m in the process of buying a smaller iPod, possibly a Shuffle but more than likely a Nano. I like having control over what song I listen to and am borderline obsessive about the order. If we learned anything from Rob Gordon (John Cusack) in High Fidelity, it’s that the order of a playlist (or in his case, a mix tape) has to be planned out as methodically as a murder. Wow, macabre anyone?  I could go into the whole ethos of creating the perfect playlist but I don’t have the time and there’s no way I could ever explain it as perfectly or succinctly as Rob Gordon so you can either A) read the book or B) watch the movie.

So, I have a playlist that I listen to when running or when trying to get motivated to run; it’s titled Training.  Man, the creativity that comes out of me is astounding!  I pretty much set it up to where I slow down every fifth song and I had originally wanted it to end on a really slow note but then I decided to say the hell with it and am pumping it at the end.

1. The Happy Mondays- 24 Hour Party People

2. The Bravery- An Honest Mistake

3. The Rapture- Whoo! Alright, Yeah…Uh Huh

4. Bloc Party- Banquet

5. Jamiroquai- Canned Heat

6. Young Love- Discotech

7. Finley Quaye- Sun Is Shining

8. Fey- Muevelo

9. 2 Unlimited- Let the Beat (Control Your Body)

10. LCD Soundsystem- Tribulations

11. Outkast- B.O.B

12. The Sounds- Dance With Me

13. Republica- Ready to Go

14. M.I.A.- URAQT

15. Kanye West- Stronger

16. Red Hot Chili Peppers- Higher Ground

You might already have most of these songs and even if you don’t want this specific playlist, the songs are great individually.  And, yes K, I will be making you a cd of this soon and will send it to you as soon as I can 🙂

Anyone have a working out playlist they’d like to share?

Comments»

1. K - March 5, 2008

How funny, great minds totally think alike. I was going to burn you two work out mixes, one of blood pumping dance music and another that I was going to title “Rock Workout.” cos sometimes, all you need is a little Rock n’ Roll to get movin 😉

Well, now that it won’t be a surprise anymore, expect it in the mail sometime next week.

2. me - March 6, 2008

These aren’t playlist just cd’s that I’ve been enjoying lately… Spoon, Kilo Rily, and Will-I-Am


Leave a Reply

