jump to navigation

More Events April 10, 2008

Posted by K in Goals, K's Perspective.
trackback

Well, I’ve decided that I’m not content to just do one 65-mile bike ride and one mini-triathlon. I’ve decided to add two more triathlons, a swim, and keep my sights on that real century at the end of the summer. That means this summer I will be doing the following:

– The Lake Berryessa Open Water Swim. I’m only doing the mile because it’s all I care to do (and because the water is cold). Lake Berryessa was my very first open water swim. They opened it to us USA Swimming kiddies one year when I was probably around 13 or 14. We did the mile swim and it only took me like 20 minutes because I used to be a fast swimmer. Now it takes me 35 as I am considerably slower (and older and fatter). However, I’m having more fun now so when I swim it this summer, it’s going to be awesome.

– The Pacific Grove Triathlon with Team In Training. The Pacific Grove Tri is an Olympic Distance meaning that it’s a mile swim, 24 mile bike and a 6.2 mile run. I can do the bike and the swim separately right now but can’t do the run. Thankfully I’ve got a good solid 6 months or so to train for it.

– The all-women Tri Girl Tri Triathlon. It’s a 1/2 mile swim, a 15 mile bike, and a 4 mile run. I did Tri Girl Tri two years ago with two of my gal pals and even though I had some issues with my digestive system while running, it was a lot of fun and I can’t wait to do it again.

When I’ve got my TnT page up, I’ll be soliciting for monies for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (LLS, the org that gets all the $$ from TnT) so make sure you start saving now so you can sponsor me šŸ˜€

Edited: M!!! Add all the updated running events you’re doing too! Let’s keep inspiring and motivating our reader (s). šŸ˜‰

Edited: T’s events:

Today I signed up for the Valley Forge Revolutionary 5 Mile run It’s this weekend, it’s a hilly course and I’m completely unprepared. I ran it last year where I edged out a 6 month pregnant newscaster. I’d like to say I could do that again this year, but only if there’s a local newscaster running it with a broken leg.

Then 2 weeks after that I have The Broad Street Run. The 2nd biggest 10 miler in America. I ran 8 miles this past weekend, I’ll be running 9 miles this Wednesday and 10 miles the weekend before the race. It’s flat and “easy”. My biggest motivator right now is the tailgaiting I’m doing with friends afterwards. If beer’s not a good motivator to run, I don’t know what is.

Comments»

1. K - April 21, 2008

T – Seriously, what would we do without beer to motivate?


Leave a comment