jump to navigation

Back in the speedo May 21, 2008

Posted by t in Uncategorized.
trackback

A few days after Broad Street I gave in to the fact that the toenail I so horridly detailed ripping off last year is growing back as an ingrown toenail. I pulled out a pair of cuticle scissors and nail clippers and tried to dig it out. Unsuccessfully. So, for the past two weeks I’ve been unable to run, so I’ve only been lifting. Yesterday the doctor cut it out, so I should be able to run in another day or two. In the meantime, today I swam for the first time in about 2 or 3 years. Unsuccessfully. As I stood on the pool deck strapping my goggles on they ripped. It’s been so long that they corroded. I tried to tie them back together and I jumped in the pool and they shredded to pieces by the end of my second lap. An 82 year old man who just got out offered to let me use his for a few minutes. I felt really awkward about doing it, but I was already in the pool and didn’t want to ruin that, right? So, I took them and started swimming. After 8 more laps, and seeing him standing on the side of the pool the whole time my guilt gave in and I got out. 250 measly yards. The worst part was that the old dude then just kept talking and talking to me. I couldn’t hear or understand a single word he said. I just had to nod and pretend I was enjoying his stories. Because, it was nice of him, wasn’t it?

Comments»

1. K - May 21, 2008

ew! Toenail pool water! gross! 😉

Way to go on getting back into the pool! I’ve always found swimming to be a good companion to running because it gives you a chance to stretch out, do a workout, and give your body a rest from running! And 250 yards is a good start! especially being out for 2 to 3 years!

Speaking of swimming, have you seen the crazy new Speedo suit that costs $550? I remember thinking that my AquaBlade was pricey at $70!


Leave a Reply

