jump to navigation

My Version of Training in Texas June 14, 2008

Posted by M in Feelin' Good, Gross, M's Perspective, Pain.
trackback

Yesterday I joined three friends for tubing fun in New Braunfels.  For those not familiar with tubing, you basically lay on an innertube and float down a river.  “This is what Texans do for fun?”  Well, you take a cooler of beer and get to lay out in the wonderful Texan sun all day with your friends and try not to die; I think that’s pretty awesome.  The plan was to take the four hour Guadalupe float, which I’ve never been on, but an hour into it, I was over it.  I got caught in the wrong current, busted my left toe on a tree while trying to avoid slamming into it, and got stuck in the rapids.  I decided to get out for a bit and told the rest of the gang I would walk down stream and meet them in a less hectic area.  Biggest mistake ever.

The thing with the Guadalupe is that there isn’t a trail following the river, it’s all private property that you’re not supposed to walk through.  I didn’t know this.  I got out of the river and tried to find the trail but soon realized I was on someone’s property and tried to make a quick exit before I was found trespassing and got shot.  In Texas we shoot first and then ask questions, which was a mentality I used to support until I became a possible target.  So I hiked through some undeveloped area for about a half hour, in a bikini, flip flops and carrying my huge innertube, before I came up to a fence.  It was a four foot tall fence made out of oak that I was able to crawl through without getting splinters.  Yay me!  I walked down a country road, still carrying my tube, still exposed in my bikini, for about a half mile before I went ahead and admitted I was completely lost.  At this point I decided to screw joining them on the river and my main objective was to go back to the launch site, pick up the car, and drive down to the pick up point.

As I said before, it’s all private property and the road I was walking on was a good three miles from the launch site, which wouldn’t have been a problem if I weren’t wearing a bikini and it weren’t 100 degrees outside.  I needed cover, fast.  I walked the half mile back to the houses I had walked through, rang some random person’s doorbell and asked for directions to the launch site.  Yes, in Texas a sweaty girl in a bikini and flip flops can just go and ring a doorbell asking for directions, and the owners will not blink an eye and be very polite.  This is why I love living here.  Anyway, I was told to walk down the road where I would come up to a fence that I could jump over and it would take me to the launch site.  I walked to the fence and saw that they had forgotten to mention it was EIGHT FEET TALL.   I threw my innertube over and began the five minute process of climbing over the fence.   A scraped shin and lots of curse words later, I was over the fence.

I finally got to the launch site, got the car, and hauled ass to the pick up site because at that point all I wanted to do was lay on the hot grass and die.  My whole adventure took about an hour and even though it was extremely frustrating and I got a killer sunburn, I found solace in the fact that I could say I did my training for the day.  And that’s how we do it in Texas!

Comments»

1. K - June 16, 2008

Hiking up a river is hard work, especially considering the 100 degree heat and the wall scaling. All in all, I say probably a good workout 🙂


Leave a Reply

