jump to navigation

Training Update July 7, 2008

Posted by K in Biking, K's Perspective, Running, Swimming, Team in Training.
trackback

Last Monday = Rest Day

Last Tuesday = Swam 2000 meters or something. I was swimming at Rossi and it’s 100 ft because it was built back in the day when America was all about America and ridiculous measurements.

Last Wednesday = Swam 2000 meters in a real pool. Had to tell someone to get out of my lane because they were swimming on the wrong side of the lane and were all in all, way too slow. Some people need to figure it out! After work, I had my second track workout of the season which was a timed 2 mile run. I ran at around 8:30 something for the first mile and close to that for the second as I came in around 17:40 for both. I am a slow runner so to hit around an 8:30/8:40ish pace for the miles is a monumental achievement. I haven’t had a good pace since my old cross country days when I was a spry young thing. Back then, I had to walk to school, uphill both ways in the snow so I was able to keep a 7:30 pace for miles. Ahh to be young… now that I’m old and only 3 years away from 30, I think an 8:30 pace isn’t too bad. I also burned 800 calories for the entire workout! w00t!

Last Thursday = Biked 19 miles with the boyfriend. He and I are doing the Healdsburg Harvest Century on the weekend of the 19th so we both needed to get some biking in. It’s a metric so it’s only 60 miles and if the Cinderella ride taught me anything it’s that I can bike 60 miles even if I’m not in biking shape. I just won’t be able to walk afterwards. On the plus, I’m in better shape overall going into this ride than the Cinderella so thank you team in training. Woo hoo! Burned around 840 calories.

Last Friday = swam like 100 feet up the Russian River, turned around and came back. There were too many drunk people out paddling around in metal canoes. I decided that I’d like to maintain consciousness and not drown in the river on the 4th of July so instead I waded around in the river and tempted the doggie to swim out further than she was.

Saturday = rest day

Sunday = Ride 21 miles. It was hot and it was a good ride. We kept a good pace and I burned 857 calories. Too bad I ate like a billion calories when I got home cos I had a huge bowl of pasta. Oh wells.

Today is a swim day, followed by a bike day tomorrow, followed by another swim & track workout day, followed by a swim, then a run, then finally a rest day (cos I have to go to the stupid dentist) then another team in training workout. I’m going to rock this tri!

Finally, for those of you who haven’t donated but would still like to, please click on that link that says “Putting the FUN in Fundraising!” Any donation helps and I really appreciate it! As do the survivors and the people fighting blood cancers đŸ™‚

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

