jump to navigation

I Feel Like a Penguin July 14, 2008

Posted by K in Gross, K's Perspective, Running, Swimming, Team in Training.
trackback

My wet suit makes me feel like a penguin. A stumpy, chubby penguin with flailing arms. At least it helped me stay warm while swimming in Aquatic Park.

So Sunday, we swam in Aquatic Park to test out our suits and to get experience swimming in the open water. As a swimmer, I’ve done my share of open water swimming except it’s all been in lakes and rivers. The sad thing is that even though I knew that the Bay water would be salty from the Ocean, I didn’t really expect HOW salty it would be! When we started swimming, I freaked out a bit from the salty taste in my mouth (apparently, I also didn’t realize how much water I get in my mouth while swimming…ew). After swimming, we went for a run and I only did the 3 mile run because my shins and IT bands were hurting.

After a workout, I reflected on swimming in a wet suit. The pros include staying warm and being more floaty. The cons include being restricted and feeling slightly claustrophobic and penguin-esque. I think wet suits are really made for skinny people. Putting it on is a difficult task but at least taking it off isn’t too bad.

I bought my first-ever tri-kit this weekend. It’s made by De Soto and it’s a two piece one which was very important to me. I figure I’ll wear the shorts and my sports bra under my wet suit for the actual tri and then just throw on the top when I get out. I’ll be able to use it for Tri Girl Tri and the Catalina Tri this year as well so definitely worth the $$.

Final things worth mentioning today:

1) Fundraising is still going, please donate today via the link that says “putting the FUN in Fundraising!”

2) Healdsburg Harvest Century on Saturday with the BF. should be interesting as I’m once again sure of my untimely demise via bike.

Update: I went for a swim during lunch and I swam 2200 meters today. I think I’m finally at a point where things are going to get better for me for my workouts! I got in the pool, felt good, and swam a good pace! My workout:

1000 meters warm up

200, 300, 200, 300, 200 broken down as follows:

200 Free and I hit a 3:15 pace

300 alternating 25 fly, 25 free for the first 100, 25 back, 25 free for the second 100, and 25 breast, 25 free for the last 100

200 Free and I hit a 3:15 pace AGAIN! woo hoo!

300 alternating 50 fly, 50 free for the first 100, 100 back for the second, 50 breast, 50 free for the third

200 warm-down pace and I hit a 3:30!!!

I’m FINALLY getting faster/better!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

