jump to navigation

Pacific Grove Race Recap September 15, 2008

Posted by K in K's Perspective, Team in Training, Triathlon.
trackback

Well Saturday was the big day for me, the Pacific Grove triathlon! Not only did I survive, but I think I did really well! And most exciting for me was the fact that I only walked a teeny bit during the run because I thought I would have to walk, like all of it. In the end, I kicked butt and I finished it in 3:10!

Saturday morning dawned cloudy and a bit chilly. All of us TnT’ers rode out from the hotel at 5:45am to the transition area. I got there, checked in and got my packet, and then went to rack-up my bike. I got everything set up and then watched the first wave start their swim. As I sat there watching the men start the race, I listened to the announcers talk about the Team in Training. All of us TnT’ers (and there was something like 340 at this race) raised $1.2M for this race only. It worked out to $37k per mile for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

There were enough women TnT people for us to have two waves and about a half hour before my wave started, I got my wet suit on. I made my way down to the beach and got myself emotionally psyched up to do the “kelp crawl”. Needless to say, I was not excited about swimming a mile through the kelp. At any rate, I said to myself, “self, we can do this except, we’ll just start kind of towards the back…” This proved to be a bad decision. At any rate, we finally started!

I’m somewhere there in there, Go team! The swim was two laps and I went 13 for the first, 14 for the second and with the run around the little rock thingie that we had to run around, I went a total of 28 minutes for the mile swim. The thing that makes me upset with myself is that I thought I should go in the back of the wave because I hadn’t been swimming as much as I had wanted to and even though I was in slow swimming shape, I was still much faster than most of the wave. I ended up being 12th out of the water in my wave and had I gone out first, i bet I would have been in the top 5 out of the water because I wouldn’t have had to swim around all the peeps in my way. And by the way, swimming through kelp is super creepy and scary. 

I spent about 5:30 in T1, trying to get out of my wet suit, dry off a bit, and get my biking gear on. The bike part was weird at first, I felt all shaky and off but I decided to just alternate between drinking water and sports drink. I also planned to eat while biking so I would have energy and fuel during the run. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get my packet of sports beans open and it took me till the third lap and basically lost half of them on the course since i was trying to tear them open with my teeth. How very animal! grr!

I averaged about 22 minutes for each of the four bike laps which gave me a total of 1:29 for the 24 mile bike. I just pushed and tried to be strong since I knew that the bike and swim would be the areas that I could be best at. Here’s me on my bike, in the pink, gray, and white tri kit on my awesome bike (in the back)

Unfortunately, I was 5min again in the transition area. For one, it’s hard to run your bike in when you’re in bike shoes, and two, I had to put on socks since I had biked without them. Oh well. It’s not like I was clamoring to get out on the run since I was most scared of the run. 

My lovely BF snapped this one of me leaving the transition area on to the run:

The run was 6 miles long and I was pretty sure I was going to die. My legs were jelly and I hadn’t been running as much as I should have. My goal was to just to get through it and walk as little as possible. Somehow, I managed to pull it together and kick butt and I only walked the teeniest bit. I managed to keep about a 10 minute mile place for a total time of 1:02 for the total 6 miles. As I rounded the turnaround on the third lap of the run, I said to myself I am almost done, let’s GO! so I pushed myself as hard as I could. I pulled it in and pushed through the finish as strongly as possible.

 I was shaky and ready to collapse, and I was ready to cry because I was so very proud of myself for competing in this event. I didn’t cry, I didn’t collapse though, instead I found my boyfriend and grabbed some sports drink and some food, ate, and stretched. 

All in all, I had a good race and felt very proud about my ability to finish strong. Though I had a great time, I probably wouldn’t do the Pac Grove triathlon again because I don’t like swimming through kelp. I highly recommend this triathlon for the less squeamish and for beginners. The course is flat, beautiful and a great spectator course. 

Next up, Tri Girl Tri in October!

Comments»

1. Tim - September 16, 2008

congrats!!

2. Melissa - September 20, 2008

I know, it’s been a week and I’m barely commenting, sorries! Super proud of you 🙂


Leave a Reply

