jump to navigation

Serious Face, Now September 20, 2008

Posted by M in M's Perspective, Running, Uncategorized.
trackback

The marathon is in six months so I started my serious training a few weeks ago.  I had hoped to start September 1st but that date happened to fall while we were in Scotland and I was NOT going to run on vacation.  Luckily we did a lot of walking, I mean A LOT, so although I didn’t run for a week, I was walking an average of five miles a day and that made up for it.  Okay, it might not have been five miles a day but it felt like it.  Word to the wise: if you ever go to Scotland and visit the William Wallace monument, don’t trust your tour guide who tells you it’s a short ten minute walk from the bottom of the hill to the monument.  It’s a twenty minute HIKE at a 50 DEGREE angle.  Yes, I’m still bitter.

My current routine consists of thirty minute runs Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I was doing weight training on Tuesdays and Thursdays but our softball season just started so it’s only Tuesdays since  Thursday night is game night.  I save for my loooong runs for Saturday.  Well, sort of long runs.  I’m increasing my distance a mile a week so right now I’m at three miles so Saturday is the day I test my distance.  I haven’t been timing myself on my Saturdays runs but I’m going to assume it’s an hour.  Just kidding…it’s two (at least it feels like it). 

I’m having issues finding a good running route in my neighborhood so I’ve been doing all of my running on a treadmill.  I’m not really fond of that but until I find something, it’ll have to do.  I’m thinking of finding a running partner but it’s hard to find a reliable person in my group of lazy friends.  I don’t mean you or you but I definitely mean you.  Maybe I’ll post something on Craigslist…

In addition to the work-out, I’ve changed my diet as well.  I’ve pretty much avoided meat since the detox and am trying to cut back on my gluten intake.  During the detox, I noticed my body just seemed to function better without gluten so I’m slowly trying to get to a gluten-free diet.  Since I take Thursday off from working out, I also take Thursday off from my diet.  Hey, you can’t play softball without beer!  I mean, I’m sure you can but what fun is that?  But really, I do feel lighter and more alert on this diet so even when the training and marathon are over, I’ll stick with it. 

Hmmm, what else is new?  My old knee injury has decided to come back, which makes running difficult somedays but I’ve been pushing through it.  Who needs a knee anyway?  I’ve been increasing my lower body weight training and am hoping it’ll help but let’s face it, I’m just getting old.  The body is starting to fall apart.  At 27, yay.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

